Summer Reads

  
I am a big reader, especially during the summer when I am on Summer break from university.  I have Picked a list of 5 books I want to read this summer at some point, although I will most definitely read a lot more than that. So here are the books!

All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

  

Description from Goodreads – Theodore Finch is fascinated by death, and he constantly thinks of ways he might kill himself. But each time, something good, no matter how small, stops him.   Violet Markey lives for the future, counting the days until graduation, when she can escape her Indiana town and her aching grief in the wake of her sister’s recent death.  When Finch and Violet meet on the ledge of the bell tower at school, it’s unclear who saves whom. And when they pair up on a project to discover the ‘natural wonders’ of their state, both Finch and Violet make more important discoveries: It’s only with Violet that Finch can be himself – a weird, funny, live-out-loud guy who’s not such a freak after all. And it’s only with Finch that Violet can forget to count away the days and start living them. But as Violet’s world grows, Finch’s begins to shrink.

I have heard a lot of good things about this book, and it is the kind of book I really like to read.  I love reading contemporary books in the summer and this fits right into that genre.  I have actually already started this book and I am really liking it so far, although I am only 40 pages in.

Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson

  

Description from Goodreads –  It was Sloane who yanked Emily out of her shell and made life 100% interesting. But right before what should have been the most epic summer, Sloane just…disappears. All she leaves behind is a to-do list.  On it, thirteen Sloane-inspired tasks that Emily would normally never try. But what if they could bring her best friend back?  Apple picking at night? Okay, easy enough.  Dance until dawn? Sure. Why not? Kiss a stranger? Um…  Emily now has this unexpected summer, and the help of Frank Porter (totally unexpected), to check things off Sloane’s list. Who knows what she’ll find?  Go skinny-dipping? Wait…what?

This is again  contemporary summery novel which is why I want to get around to reading it this summer.I wanted to read this last year, but had for too many books on my list that I just didn’t feel like a summery read by the time I got round to it!

We Were Liars by E. Lockhart

  

Description from Goodreads – We are the Liars.  We are beautiful, privileged and live a life of carefree luxury.  We are cracked and broken.  A story of love and romance.  A tale of tragedy.  Which are lies?  Which is truth?  You decide.

This is one of those books that I want to know nothing about when I dive into it, and I think that is how the author intends for you to read it as the description is so vague.  I am very excited about this and can see me reading this in one sitting as it is quite a short book.

To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han

  

Description from Goodreads –  Lara Jean keeps her love letters in a hat-box her mother gave her.  They aren’t love letters that anyone else wrote for her, these are ones she’s written. One for every boy she’s ever loved—five in all. When she writes, she can pour out her heart and soul and say all the things she would never say in real life, because her letters are for her eyes only. Until the day her secret letters are mailed, and suddenly Lara Jean’s love life goes from imaginary to out of control.

I read Jenny Hans “The Summer I Turned Pretty Series” and loved it, so this year this book will be read as I love her writing and again, it’s a contemporary novel.

Winger by Andrew Smith

  

Description from Goodreads – Ryan Dean West is a fourteen-year-old boy at a boarding school for rich kids. He’s living in Opportunity Hall, the dorm for troublemakers, and rooming with the biggest bully on the rugby team. And he’s madly in love with his best friend Annie, who thinks of him as a little boy.  With the help of his sense of humour, rugby buddies, and his penchant for doodling comics, Ryan Dean manages to survive life’s complications and even find some happiness along the way. But when the unthinkable happens, he has to figure out how to hold on to what’s important, even when it feels like everything has fallen apart.  Filled with hand-drawn illustrations and told in a pitch-perfect voice, this realistic depiction of a teen’s experience strikes an exceptional balance of hilarious and heartbreaking.

I love reading boarding school books, I have no idea why, but they just really entertain me, so when I saw this in Waterstones naturally I picked this up and put it straight on my list of books to be read this summer!

So those are the books I want to read this summer before I go back to university.  What books are you planning on reading this summer? Let me know in the comments below and I hope you have a great day!

Leave a Reply

